Thread: Dragon Age 2 (Impressions)

war breaker is offline Senior Member -Hacks Ninja

Thumbs up Dragon Age 2 (Impressions)

Hello all,
    I have never done a "review" of a game before. I figured I could just post a few opinions of my own to help anyone who may be on the fence about the game.

For starters, i was a huge Origins fan, I loved it entirely. There were a few things that I felt could have been done better and I feel they pulled it off on the second game.

Dragon Age 2 starts you off as a main character, as in you cannot choose what race origin you started as. You have the choice of Male or Female and choose between warrior, rogue, or mage classes. I did just finish the game this morning for the third time and each time i tried it with every class.

The warrior class is your general tank class. As a warrior you are expecting to be a heavy damage dealer but in Dragon Age that is not the case. The warrior class is pretty much a tank class, keeps aggro off your party and lets the REAL damage dealers do their job without succumbing to the heavy attacks from the mobs you fight. You can choose between sword and shield or two handed weapons. The differences between these pretty much depends on your play style. Two handers have a wide arc which lets you deal damage to multiple enemies from one swing of your weapon. You can do this as well with the sword and shield but the arc is not as large. The two handed weapons can be considered crowd control while the sword and shield can help you become a walking target. None of this is bad in general but if you are looking to do some real damage and feel like a real contributor to the party, you may not find that in this class.