Thread: What to chose to do...

LinK3604 is offline -Hacks Neophyte

Well first off let me say Hi as im new to the fourms, but i've been reading on and off for a few weeks now.

I just got a psp, new owner and all, first time touchin one :P. Like i said i've been reading and all and was wondering what i should do with it as far as modding it out or such to load games from the mem stick or through usb. I dont want to 'brick' my psp as like i said im a new ownwer and all and got this as a present. I've got the 2gb highspeed mem stick for it so i think space isn't a problem. Anyway, the specs of my psp are..

The non-downgrable motherboard (?)
    2.71 firmware (Stright out of the box so i guess thats an updated one?)

I was reading about the 2.71se(a,b,c) firmwares and all that but i dont know much about them or such. I guess what my question is, is what can i do with my 2.71 psp and not brick it? because from what i was reading you need 1.5 to run iso's or umd files from the mem stick or usb, but you can't downgrade 2.71 to 1.5 without bricking it.

like i said im new and have searched the fourms for info and such, but i still am just asking because well i just dont know and need some explaining(?)

have mercy!!! :P

ZiNgABuRgA is offline Senior Member -Hacks Titan

The most you can do is not upgrade your PSP...

...and try the reverse DevHook - check the sticky in the Help section for the DevHook for 2.71

LinK3604 is offline -Hacks Neophyte

well i read about not upgrading if i want any hope of having time to do stuff to it so i knew not to do that :P.. an thx i'll check out the sticky

trippr is offline -Hacks Newbie

yea unfortunately you have the non-downgradable motherboard (ta-82) so you wont be able to do much.

Chewy954 is offline -Hacks Titan

you can use the 2.71 port of devhooks to emulate 1.5 to play iso's

Zero is offline Ad Man -Hacks Titan

Open the UMD door and look at the very top right corner to see if there is any text written on the motherboard.