Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Should I hack my psp?

42972973 is offline -Hacks Newbie

Im completely new to the hacking scene. Ever since I heard about the downgrade from 3.03 ive been considering hacking my psp. I'm not too worried about bricking it since i got it for dirt cheap but what I am worried about is if hacking will affect my psp's compatiblity with ps3 or new psp games. I still want to buy some games, and I know some games make you update to new official firmware before letting you play. So will hacking affect my psp's ability to play umd games or ps3 connectivity? And are there any other downsides to hacking that I should know about?

Kypt is offline -Hacks Smarty

Hacking will give you the best of official plus the best of homebrew. You'll be able to do all of the official stuff plus ISOs :P

Basically you downgrade to 1.5 and then upgrade to the custom firmware 3.10A'. It will behave just like the official 3.10 so Sony will recognize it as 3.10, w/ the difference that you can run ISOs and homebrew. UMDs will be unaffected. If they require 3.03 they will see your 3.10 and will work perfect.

Slivver is offline -Hacks Newbie

Ok, if you downgrade your PSP to 1.50, and then UPGRADE to one of the custom firmwares (3.02 OE series, 3.03 OE series, 3.10 OE series) then you have ALL the benefits of the 1.50 firmware (Homebrew, ISO, etc) PLUS all the new features of the latest Sony firmware (Web Browser, PS1 emulator, Mp3 Visualizer, etc etc) (you do lose the location free player though..) Additionally UMD games believe that the latest firmware is ALREADY installed (as the custom firmware uses a great deal of the firmware it is customized from...) so their really isn't much of a downside.