Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: buying a used psp

s.gerrard is offline -Hacks Newbie

Default buying a used psp

Hi a friend of mine has a used psp for sale...

how do i know what software it is running, as i think to hack it it needs to be under 4.0 (sorry im new to this!) but how can i check what software it is?

Also i have seen a few going on ebay and people always seem to ask questions like this....

Q: Hi Mate! Can U tell me "data code" behind the battery (for example 8a 8c)? REGARDS
    A: hey! the data code is 8c.

or

Q: in the right side on the box, there is a circle. Is it black or white? ( under CEK) and the serial #. Is it beginning like this? S01-06....?
    A: The circle is black outline with white in the middle. The serial number starts S01-01.

why is that important? is this something to do with hacking the psp also?

and finally this psp im thinking of buying doesnt come with a charger, where is the best/cheapest place to get a car and house charger? can you just plug the psp into mains or do you have to remove battery and charge it in a seperate unit?

sorry for all the questions but as you can see im a complete newbie, so need all the help i can get! im also looking for the easiest way to hack my psp as after reading the guide is does look hard, so i want to buy the model/type of psp that is easiest to hack...

thanks

Demonchild is offline #thatguy -Hacks Titan

First, welcome to the club!

We need to know what type of PSP it is. Is it a Phat, Slim or PSP-3000?

Phats can be hacked regardless of firmware

Slims can be hacked if their starting firmware is 3.60 - 3.95. Units with 4.00 or higher cannot be hacked

3000s can't be hacked.

The date code simply represents the approx. time the unit was manufactured. This helps to tell whether or not it has a hackable motherboard (earlier date codes) as opposed to an unhackable one. (Later date codes)

Guide for M33 firmwares | Install DCv8 |PS3 Hacking Thread