Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: [Guide] Troubleshooting your PSP with XGEN Pandora v5 and PSP Tool

Secret Dragoon is offline -Hacks Ninja

Default [Guide] Troubleshooting your PSP with XGEN Pandora v5 and PSP Tool

Preface

Have you ever had a problem with your PSP where you would result in random freezing? Bricking? Overall slowness? Well this could be caused by past firmwares clogging up the PSP's flash memory. Hopefully I can provide you with some general strategies to "fix" your PSP up if it's not working 100%.

Who am I to say that I know what I'm talking about though? Well I'm really a nobody but in the scene but I Have 2 years of experience hacking my own and others PSPs. I've only ever once unintentionally bricked my PSP, and even fixed that when nobody I knew could. Lots of people on this site and off have thanked me for my information on general troubleshooting so I figure I might as well make this guide now.

As a note I'm not saying that these methods will work %100 but if you follow my advice and if you should ever result in a brick by other means you should be able to get out of it without much harm. Things can over time damage the internal memory of the PSP so please be careful as a PSP user.

The following guide will cover these topics:

- General Requirements to follow my guide
    - The Benefits of what I am teaching you
    - General use of the XGen Pandora (version 5 at the moment)
    - General use of PSP Tool 1.0 for anything not done by XGen Pandora or the Recovery Menu
    - How to use 5.00 M33-4 and 5.50 GEN-D3 at the same time.
    - Any other tips and secret gems I may know that others may not.

Requirements

- An already modded (non-HEN) PSP. This is NOT a modding guide.
    - PREFERABLY Any 1000 motherboard or the TA-085 v1 Motherboard for slims. (other Hackable Slim Mobos can work but you can't Soft Mod Pandora freely)
    - XGEN Pandora v5 and PSP Tool 1.00 (Link by me)
    - 500.pbp and 550.pbp (Link by me)
    - Common Sense.