Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: "I'm new to modding, just bought a 360." Sounds Like You? Read This.

troy2000 is offline -Hacks Ninja

This is an "all you need to know about..." tutorial for users who have never performed a single Xbox 360 mod before and need to know where to start. I'm writing this because of the massive amount of posts in the "Help" section, from users who want to mod their console, but also want a good start.

Xbox 360 Modding 101

So, you�ve just bought a shiny new Xbox 360 console. You proudly carry the intrusively large box home, all the way holding it over your head like it�s a golden trophy and you�ve just won the lottery. You watch your friends� dumbstruck looks as you walk past them and into your home, bolting the door shut behind you.
    Placing the box on a coffee table in the lounge, you simply sit on your blue-threaded sofa and gaze, almost dreamily at it, wondering whether or not to open the box and enjoy the many good times ahead�

Sorry, but (as a writer) it gave me such a perfect opening. But now, lets get to the point.

Once you have this awesome piece of technological development connected, and wanting to get it modded, you need some info on the methods involved. Here is a quick F.A.Q on modding the Xbox 360:

Q: If I mod my Xbox 360, can I play copied games?

A: Yes, you can.

Q: Is there a way for me to get Xbox LIVE for free?

A: Every Xbox 360 console allows you to create up to five LIVE accounts, each with a one month free trial. Certain Xbox 360 titles will also allow free online gameplay. Beyond that, there is no (legal) way to get free gold membership.

Q: Will I still be able to use Xbox LIVE?

A: Yes, for now. However, the possibility exists that Microsoft may release extra security in coming updates to find and ban you from the LIVE service. Note: This will ban the console, not the Xbox LIVE profile.

Q: I just bought a new Xbox 360, but it has a Lite-On drive! Can I flash it?